Review: Hot Dog & Beyond

Posted: September 11, 2012 in Reviews
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Hello Everyone! I hope all of you burgerheads had fun this summer. I personally started my holidays last week and looking forward to the last days of sunshine in Beirut! Anyway this is not a blog about my life so we’ll go straight to today’s subject! Hot Dog & Beyond

This is a new place that opened at Le Mall Dbayeh, right next to Classic Burger Joint (talk about competition ;)).
My visit to HD&B reminded me that there is a very thin line between a Diner and a Fast-Food restaurant. HD&B is standing right on that line. The place serves mainly Hot Dogs-they have more than a dozen on the menu- but also some hamburgers, all prepared right in front of you, from their open cuisine. The price of the burger ranges from 15000 LBP for a simple chicken burger to 18750 LBP for their signature burger, including french fries and a side-salad.

The three friends that were with me ordered Chicken Burgers, Mozarella Burger and Mexican Fajita Burger. Feeling adventurous, I went for the signature burger

 

 

 

 

 

Our overall opinion on these burgers was that the sauce was really good (especially the Aioli sauce I had in the HD&B Burger), the toppings were fresh, but the meat was definitely the outsider of our the combo. We could definitely tell it was frozen and not fresh, the patty is really thin, and, when I cut a bite to taste it alone, it simply was not good. Concerning the fries, we had diverse opinions concerning them…I personally enjoyed them.

Last but not least, we ordered some BBQ Sauce and this is what our waiter came with…Now trust me I know how is a cup of BBQ sauce supposed to look/taste like, this is cocktail sauce. We asked him if he were sure that it was BBQ sauce. He very confidently answered that yes, it was BBQ sauce but mixed with ketchup (because the HP BBQ sauce was “ktiir 7ar”). If you are wondering, no they do not have BBQ Burgers.

 


So the bottom line about Hot Dog & Beyond…Well they should not have gone beyond 😉

Comments
  1. Sonialynn says:

    Hahaha nice last comment

  2. George says:

    Well considering all the hotdog kiosks around Beirut, there’s finally a restaurant that you can sit and enjoy your meal. I personally enjoyed it, the hotdogs were super delicious, specially the chili cheese hotdog. I still didn’t get the chance to taste the burgers but a friend of mine had a burger and he enjoyed it.. Overall my experience was great!

Leave a Reply

