Review: Umami Burger

Posted: March 21, 2012 in Reviews
Tags: , , , ,

“Umami, popularly referred to as savoriness, is one of the five basic tastes together with sweet, sour, bitter, and salty. Umami is a loanword from the Japanese umami (うま味) meaning “pleasant savory taste”” 
Source: Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

So according to the Japanese, there is a fifth taste. According to the Californians,  you can make burgers out of it. GQ Magazine chose Umami Burger as the Burger of the Year 2011. The branch opened 7 locations across Los Angeles and San Francisco during the last two years.  I had the opportunity to try it while travelling in the United States last-month. Enough talking, let’s see the beast…

This is the Signature Burger, I also tasted a truffle burger on my second visit there. I didn’t find anything special in this burger, I couldn’t even tell there was a fifth taste. But holy shit, that was one of the best burgers I’ve had in my life. Even my mother who hates burgers loved it. The patty is perfectly cooked, medium-rare, the bun is sweet and tender, the beer they proposed as a match for the signature burger was perfect, and even the sweet potato fries that didn’t attract me much at first turned out to be extremely addictive…
So if ever you’re passing by California, this place is a must. 16$ for what you can consider to be a gourmet burger is not that expensive

Score: 9/10 (Why would I start a burger blog if I had already found the perfect burger…)

PS: If you wonder how does the umami is supposed to taste like, chew two cherry tomatoes for 30 seconds and you should be able to feel the umami taste inside your cheeks!

Leave a Reply

